Blog Spotlight:

Our second blog spotlight is on Mrs. Waters’ English : a Middle School ELA and Education review blog, by Mrs. Michelle Waters’

10501711_795516210481581_483148855111043206_n

Michelle is an English teacher in a rural high-poverty area who loves helping students learn how to lead successful and productive lives.

About the Blogger

I am a 5th year English teacher in a rural Oklahoma City area high school. I have the privilege of teaching 9th-11th grade English classes with students who are 15+ years of age. Parents of kids these ages will know all too well the drama of some days, and the sudden maturity of others. Now, imagine having 80 140 120 teenagers a day… Many 5th-year teachers are young and idealistic. I think that I’m old and idealistic. I still believe that I can make a difference in the students’ lives — even if they hate me for it right now. I remember the difference my teachers made in my life and I want to do the same for my students.

Background

Teaching is my 3rd career. I have served as an award-winning newspaper reporter after majoring in Journalism and Public Relations at Oklahoma Baptist University. After I had my son, I stayed home with him and started a web hosting and design company, which I managed for almost 10 years. During this time, I realized that I love teaching. I enjoyed those times when I called my clients and walked them through the process of using my software. And I started remembering how I loved playing school as a kid. Finally, it clicked one day. I wanted to be a teacher! My pastor shared with me that I could go through the alternative certification process and gain experience by subbing. So that’s the route I took. At present, I’ve taught more than one year of high school and three years of middle school.

Why blog?

I have wanted to blog since I started this process. I probably should have started as soon as I decided to become a teacher. However, a combination of lesson-planning, children-raising, husband-paying-attention-to and so-tired-I’m-just-going-to-take-a-nap pressures resulted in a lack of energy to blog. But, as they say, better late than never…

For more information about my career in education, visit my online curriculum vitae.

Leave a Reply

